Green List

Papua New Guinea


Papua New Guinea is one of eighteen megadiverse countries in the world, containing more than 7% of the world’s biodiversity in less than 1% of the world’s land area. This includes over 18,000 described plant species, 719 birds, 271 mammals, 227 reptiles, 266 amphibians, 341 freshwater fish species, 600 species of coral and 3000 species of reef fish. 

In addition to biodiversity, Papua New Guinea has significant cultural diversity, with more than 800 languages and 96% of the land still being held under customary ownership.

The biodiversity of Papua New Guinea is threatened by a rapidly growing population and resource development, including forestry, agriculture, fisheries, mining and petroleum. 

Protected Areas in Papua New Guinea cover 3.69% of terrestrial area and 0.14% of marine area. These protected areas fall into IUCN management categories III and IV.  

Related Expert Assessment Group (EAGL): Melanesia


Formation not yet started

Explore Region
Please note that our website is in a BETA phase and is still undergoing final testing before our official launch.
IUCN Green List

IUCN Green List
Protected | Conserved Areas

Subscribe to our mailing list

Privacy Policy Legal Sitemap

© 2024 IUCN, International Union for Conservation of Nature
Site by Design Factory
This website is possible thanks to the support from:

Join the conversation

IUCN Green List